RR9 – Let it Go, See What Happens

This article by Henriette Klauser sparked a lot of intense thinking from me. On one hand, I find that the author has plenty of wisdom in that she instructs that focused thinking and a positive outlook can really help a dream or goal to enter reality and reach completion. However, much of her thinking seems to me very unbiblical. After all, is it not true that only God has the power to make something come about? Could a Christian not say that, as hard as we may try, until God wills one’s goal to come to fruition, no such thing will happen? In this way, I disagree with Ms. Klauser. Yes, she has good and sound examples that working to keep something in the forefront of your mind will encourage your brain to focus on a solution to that problem or situation, but, from a Christ-centered perspective, would it not show more wisdom to ‘pray without ceasing?’ And in another example, when Henriette mentions that, during studies with animals, what one group or colony of animals starts to focus on or work at, so will the other animals begin to copy them, is it not true that the Bible would say that God controls all things, more than any mere mortal – even a learned scientist – could understand? The Lord works in mysterious ways, and that includes all the desires and dreams of our hearts. Personally, I would feel much better if I had written down a prayer or petition especially to God, asking for His will in my situation. After all, I do not wish to take charge of my own destiny.

 

Leave a comment